top of page

Women Making History - March 31, 2022



By: Demitrianna Grekos

On March 31, 2022, Miami-Dade FAWL ("MDFAWL") and the MDFAWL Foundation celebrated its annual Women Making History Award and Scholarship Reception. Hundreds of MDFAWL members, friends, and supporters joined to honor County Court Judge Myriam Lehr, the recipient of the 2021 Women Making History (WMH) Award. This award is given annually by MDFAWL to an individual whose work and leadership in the community promote the advancement of women.

The Honorable Linda Singer Stein and the Honorable Lisa Walsh spoke of their friend Judge Lehr’s commitment to the rule of law. Judge Lehr spoke movingly about how her family’s history motivates her to continue fighting for justice. Judge Lehr’s family cheered her on proudly from the audience.

Judge Lehr has been a Judge and a pillar of the Miami-Dade legal community since 1997, making this year the 25th anniversary of her appointment to the bench. She presides in the Civil Division at the North Dade Justice Center, handling bench and jury trials in the areas of subrogation, insurance, breach of contract, foreclosures, evictions, and small claims cases. She also hears uncontested divorces and reviews petitions for domestic violence injunctions.

Judge Lehr co-founded the North Dade Justice Internship Program with Alonzo and Tracey Mourning High School. This internship program is geared toward mentoring and educating students interested in becoming lawyers and judges. Judge Lehr also founded and is the annual Co-Chair of the Law Day Program, celebrated each year at the courthouse. The North Dade Law Day celebration is Miami-Dade’s preeminent Law Day event and is attended by community leaders from throughout the county, as well as students from neighboring schools.

Judge Lehr is the current Florida State Chair of the National Association of Women Judges (NAWJ), and in that capacity has taken a leadership role in The Color of Justice program. This program has brought judges and lawyers together with young girls and minorities to encourage them to consider legal careers. In 2012, Judge Lehr co-chaired the National Conference of the NAWJ, bringing over 400 judges, lawyers, students and educators from around the country to Miami for a four-day educational conference. She was honored by the NAWJ for her extraordinary contributions as leader and organizer of this prestigious conference.

Following the presentation of the WMH Award, the MDFAWL Foundation granted scholarships to 19 law students who demonstrate academic merit, financial need, and a commitment to their communities. These law students represent the future generation of Miami-Dade lawyers and judges, and we cannot wait to see what they have in store. Perhaps one day, a Women Making History Award recipient will come from this group. We applaud these recipients for their exceptional talents and look forward to practicing alongside them.

This scholarship program is not possible without the support of our community partners’ generous donations. Congratulations to all of the award recipients!

Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC Scholarship—Sofia Azpurua

Burgos Family Scholarship—Briana Harris

Capt. Patricia Schlesinger Memorial Scholarship—Katherine Fullerton

Cole, Scott & Kissane, P.A. Scholarship—Yamilet Estrella

Ellen Leesfield Scholarship—Vanancia Hyppolite

Greenberg Traurig, LLP Scholarship—Dawn Jamison

Jean Perwin Memorial Scholarship—Brandi Griffin

Judge Linda Dakis Memorial Scholarship—Nelly Cabrera

Judge Lody Jean Scholarship—Shevauna Dumay

Judge Shelley Kravitz Memorial Scholarship—Lauren O'Neil

Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton Scholarship—Emma Boggs

Kubicki Draper Scholarship—Amanda Souto

MDFAWL Board Leadership Scholarship—Mira Haqqani

MDFAWL Foundation Scholarship—Stevi Leavitt

Priscilla Perry Memorial Scholarship—Kayla Neal

ShubinBass, P.A. Scholarship—Monica Larsen

Sookie Williams Memorial Scholarship—Deja Gordon

Sonia "Sunny" Yahr Memorial Scholarship—Natalie Carleo

Women Supporting Women Scholarship—Rebecca Lopez

CLICK HERE to view photos from the event.


  • Instagram
  • Twitter
bottom of page