top of page


Each year, MDFAWL presents three awards to deserving women and men who demonstrate a commitment to and passion for the professional advancement of women lawyers and the promotion of women’s rights.


- Eleanor Roosevelt

Women Making History Award

The Women Making History Award is awarded annually during the month of March, which is Women’s History Month. The award recipient exemplifies the ideals of professional achievement, perseverance, and dedication to women's issues. Her accomplishments and passion pave the way for the new women leaders of today's generation. She is a trailblazer.

The Women Making History Award Application for 2023 is available here.

Women Making History

Past Women Making History Award Recipients

  • 2004: Edith Osman

  • 2005: Florida Supreme Court Chief Justice Barbara Pariente

  • 2008: Patricia Ireland & Sookie Williams

  • 2009: Hilarie Bass

  • 2010: Janet Reno

  • 2011: Miami-Dade County Commissioner Sally A. Heyman & Professor M. Minnette Massey

  • 2012: The Honorable Marcia G. Cooke

  • 2013: The Honorable Bertila Soto

  • 2014: Donna E. Shalala

  • 2015: Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis & Professor Mary Anne Franks

  • 2016: State Attorney Katherine Fernandez Rundle

  • 2017: County Attorney Abigail Price Williams

  • 2018: Melanie Damian

  • 2019: Florida Supreme Court Justice Barbara Lagoa

  • 2020: Kimberly A. Cook

  • 2021: Miami-Dade Mayor, Daniella Levine Cava

  • 2022: The Honorable Myriam Lehr

The Honorable Theodore Klein Award

The late Honorable Theodore Klein was recognized as one of the sharpest legal minds in South Florida during a storied career as a defense lawyer, federal prosecutor, and federal magistrate. Throughout his life, he exhibited a passion for the law and a dedication to the advancement of women in all professions, including the legal profession. He was also the first male member of MDFAWL. This award was established in 2008 in his honor, and recognizes a male member of MDFAWL who has demonstrated initiative and dedication to women’s issues.

The Honorable Theodore Klein Award Application for 2022 is available here.

Honorable Theodore

Past Honorable Theodore Klein Award Recipients

  • 2008: The Honorable Joseph P. Farina

  • 2009: John Kozyak

  • 2010: Benjamine Reid

  • 2011: Steven W. Davis

  • 2012: Gerald I. Kornreich

  • 2013: The Honorable John W. Thornton

  • 2014: The Honorable Milton Hirsch

  • 2015: Ira Leesfield

  • 2016: The Honorable Scott Bernstein

  • 2017: Patrick Montoya

  • 2018: Jerry Hamilton

  • 2019: The Honorable Rodolfo A. Ruiz II

  • 2021: The Honorable Donald "DJ" Cannava