Women Making History Award and Scholarship Presentation 

March 28, 2018 The Collection 


Judge Lisa Walsh, Melanie Damian, and
2017-2018 MDFAWL President Katie Phang

By Stephanie Moot

In honor of Women’s History Month, MDFAWL hosted its signature Women Making History event on March 28, 2018, at The Collection in Coral Gables. At this annual event, MDFAWL honors a member who exemplifies the ideals of professional achievement, perseverance and dedication to women’s issues. MDFAWL also presents scholarships to law students who have made, or seek to make, contributions to the community in the areas of health, safety, human rights or human welfare.
This year’s Women Making History award was given to Melanie E. Damian. Her character, longstanding commitment to improving our community, and professional accomplishments are an inspiration to all.  Ms. Damian, a senior partner at Damian & Valori LLP, represents public and private companies and individuals in a variety of complex business and securities litigation. She regularly serves as court-appointed Federal Equity Receiver, Special Monitor, and Distribution Agent, and also serves as Receiver and Monitor in state court matters. She is currently serving as Chair of the Business Law Section of The Florida Bar, as Chair-Elect of the International Women’s Forum (IWF) Florida Chapter, and as Co-Chair of the IWF 2018 World Leadership Conference. She also is active in child advocacy and is a founder of the non-profit Educate Tomorrow.
Additionally, the following law students were presented with scholarships based on their commitment to bettering our community:
  • Tremaine Hemans – Lara Bueso Bach Scholarship
  • Kathleen Leon – Jean Perwin Memorial Fund Scholarship
  • Natasha Muthurin – Shelley Kravitz Scholarship
  • Allison Gordon – Kozyak, Tropin & Throckmorton Scholarship
  • Ana Rocio Velasquez – Alexandra Bach Lagos Scholarship
  • Loune-Djenia Askew – Scholarship Honoring Lody Jean
  • Na’imah Lafferty – Friends of Linda Dakis & Pemberton Scholarship
  • Andrea Valencia – Sonia “Sunny” Yahr Memorial Scholarship
 Notably, the above-named sponsors have donated to the scholarship fund year after year.
The Collection provided a lovely venue for the event. There was no shortage of food, drinks or merriment.  Guests were even invited to test-drive cars – and many marked their future holiday present.
MDFAWL appreciates the generosity of the sponsors for the event. The Collection graciously provided the venue, food, beverages, complimentary valet parking and audio visual equipment for the event.  Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP designed and provided the event program. This was also one of many MDFAWL events sponsored by Greenberg Traurig.
MDFAWL also thanks the Women Making History Committee for its efforts to organize and promote this worthy community event: Carmen Contreras-Martinez, Keri Joseph de Freitas, Allison Jade Leonard, Tom Lohman, Diana Mendez, Stephanie Moot, Julie Rodriguez, Tiya Rolle, Debbie Ross Ocariz, Jessica Saiontz, Schuyler Smith and Sylmarie Trujillo.