

Mattie Belle Davis Award Nomination Form Deadline: March 8, 2024, at 5:00 p.m.

Mattie Belle Davis was the only woman admitted to The Florida Bar in 1936. Twenty-three years later, she became the first woman to be appointed to the Metropolitan Court of Dade County, and she served on the bench in the Circuit and County Courts of Dade County until her retirement in 1996. Judge Davis was a founding member of the Florida Association for Women Lawyers in 1951 and became its President in 1957; she also served as President of the National Association of Women Lawyers in 1965. Judge Davis remained involved with and committed to FAWL for decades—in fact, she was FAWL's Historian until she passed in 2004, at the age of 93. This award is presented in her honor.

E-mail a completed nomination form and any supporting documents (not to exceed 10 pages total) combined as a single PDF to officers@mdfawl.org before 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 8, 2024, with the subject line: "MDFAWL Mattie Belle Davis Nomination for [Nominee's Name]."

Criteria for Selection: This award is presented annually to a MDFAWL member who is a woman working in the legal profession and who exemplifies the ideals of professional achievement, perseverance, equal opportunity, and the success of women in the law. Judge Davis and past award recipients have shaped a legacy of service to MDFAWL's mission and contributions to the community; to honor that legacy, involvement in MDFAWL is a factor that will be considered in selection.

Nominee's Name:			
Email Address:	Phone Number:		
Is the nominee aware of her nomination?	Yes	No	
Name of Person Submitting Nomination:			
Email Address:	Phone Number:		

Instructions: Briefly summarize the nominee's accomplishments and how she exemplifies the ideals demonstrated by the late Judge Davis. Please include some discussion on the nominee's involvement in and commitment to MDFAWL and MDFAWL's mission.

Past Recipients of the MDFAWL Mattie Belle Davis Award

1987:	Roberta Fulton Fox	2006:	The Honorable Laurel Myerson Isicoff
	Janet Reno		The Honorable Leslie B. Rothenberg
1989:	Carrie Meek		The Honorable Jacqueline Hogan Scola
1990:	Elaine Gordon	2009:	Cynthia A. Everett
1991:	The Honorable Gill S. Freeman	2010:	Marcia Cypen
1992:	The Honorable Rosemary Barkett	2011:	State Attorney Katherine Fernandez Rundle
1993:	The Honorable Cindy S. Lederman	2012:	Melanie E. Damian
1994:	The Honorable Patricia A. Seitz	2013:	Lisa Lehner
1995:	Ellen Freidin	2014:	Katherine Ezell
1996:	The Honorable Lenore Nesbitt	2015:	The Honorable Lisa S. Walsh
2000:	Edith G. Osman	2016:	Julie Braman Kane
2002:	Sharon L. Langer	2017:	Deborah Baker-Egozi
2003:	The Honorable Ellen Leesfield	2018:	Michelle Suskauer
2004:	The Honorable Sandy Karlan	2019:	The Honorable Carroll J. Kelly
2005:	Elizabeth Baker	2022:	The Honorable Bronwyn C. Miller
		2023:	Katie Phang